2021 forms for filing for divorce in WA. Complete your divorce online without a lawyer.
Under Washington state uncontested divorce laws, a divorce can be initiated on the no-fault basis only. This means that one spouse cannot blame the other one for ruining the marriage, and they can only end their marital union due to irreconcilable differences. However, their marriage dissolution can still be either a contested or an uncontested one:
If your marriage ends on a sour note and you cannot find it in yourself to agree on post-divorce property distribution, debt splitting, custody arrangements and other issues, your marriage dissolution can only be contested. Both of you will have to hire lawyers and your case will go to trial where a judge will have the final say on all the above mentioned aspects. It may take months, if not years, to finalize your case, and your attorneys will end up with at least $15,000 dollars in profit.
When you and your spouse have reached the agreement on all the post-divorce issues, you may file for WA uncontested divorce. The marriage dissolution process for such cases is simplified significantly, and there will be no trial – only a hearing, which is why there will be no need to hire a lawyer unless this is something you are more comfortable with. Divorce by agreement is definitely less expensive and lasts not that as long as a contested one. In fact, it can be finalized in just 3 months.
In Washington state, uncontested divorce is obviously a preferable option. Spouses have a lot of alternatives to hiring lawyers and can even get help online for a very affordable price.
If you choose to file for divorce online in Washington State with the help of our service, you will:
Ordering your Washington State divorce forms online will allow you to save both time and money. You will not need to hire a lawyer to prepare your documents and pay them thousands for that, or look for everything yourself spending days doing a research.
Being really fast is one of our key benefits that leaves our competitors far behind. Take 30 minutes to complete our online questionnaire and we will fill out all the needed forms for your case and send them to you within a few days.
RECEIVE A HANDY GUIDE FOR FILING THE PAPERS WITH THE COURT
You will not only get a full package of completed forms for the dissolution of marriage, but also receive detailed instructions on how to file documents with the court.
ENJOY A 100% ONLINE PROCESS
Getting your Washington State divorce paperwork online means that there will be no need to meet in person. You will receive a full WA State divorce packet via the email after passing a quick questionnaire on our website.
GET 24/7 SUPPORT
We are always ready to assist if you need our help. Our team of professionals will answer all your questions via phone, chat, or email 24/7.
Answer Relevant Questions
Download Your Completed Forms
File The Documents
While some spouses are more comfortable working with lawyers or getting some basic legal assistance, others choose to get a do it yourself divorce in Washington State. While this option is quite cheap, there are a lot of pitfalls that await a couple choosing to end their marriage this way. Here are a few things you need to know if you are considering a DIY divorce in WA:
If you want to file for a simple divorce in Washington state, it is better not to do it completely on your own. Getting your documents for WA divorce online will not just save you time, but will also become a guarantee that the papers you receive will be successfully filed in court from the first try. Moreover, not getting a completely DIY divorce in Washington State does not mean that you will have to spend a lot of money. Our services cost only $139 and there are no hidden fees that you should worry about.
Whether you are filling out the Washington State divorce forms on your own or ordering them online, here is some of the information that you will be required to provide:
There are various WA divorce forms, with some of them being mandatory for all types of cases, and others being needed only under specific circumstances. For example, certain divorce forms in Washington state would only be suitable for divorcing parents, and some only for low-income families.
When ordering Washington state divorce forms online, you will receive:
Please note that there are plenty more divorce forms in Washington state that can be delivered and we will choose those that suit your case specifically.
Any divorce in a state of Washington usually starts with filling out and filing divorce forms with the court. Once it’s done, the spouse who filed the papers pays the filling fee and asks someone over 18 to hand-deliver the copies of the forms to the other spouse. The copies must be signed and filed, and the hearing can be scheduled in 90 days after the initial filing.
Under state laws, are no residency requirements to file in Washington. However, if you have children, they should have lived in the state for more than 6 months for a court to be able to make decisions that concern them.
Under state family law, there is an obligatory waiting period for couples who file Washington state divorce documents. It means that the court would only schedule a hearing after 90 days have passed since the paperwork was filed.
Getting a divorce in WA with children, parents need to reach an agreement on:
A judge will carefully review an agreement made by spouses getting a divorce in Washington state to determine not only if they complied with state laws when making child support calculations, but also if they have made a fair arrangement that is in the best interest of their children. Spouses will have to show willingness to cooperate and resolve their differences for the sake of the wellbeing of their kids for a judge to sign the final orders.
Great and simple service! I have finally gotten divorced and I could say that the guide that is provided with forms to file comes in hand.
I’m really into DIY, and my divorce was not an exception, so I was very eager to try this site out. It was so much easier than I expected, and the price was a rather pleasant surprise. I checked other sites before settling on this one, and while some others may have similar prices, I haven’t seen options with lower $$$ and this site offers so much more than others!
I hesitated first, because we had a son and I was afraid that we can’t do it without a lawyer, but after having a couple of attorney’s consultations, we decided that it would be cheaper for us to settle all the parenting issues with my wife and spend money on summer camp for our son, than on resolving conflicts between me and her with a third party involved. To sum up – if you are able to agree with your ex, you better use this service.
Can I file for divorce in Washington without a lawyer?
Yes, you can. As under WA divorce laws there is no necessity to prove the fault of another party in divorce, you will only need a lawyer in case your husband or wife disagrees with you on important divorce-related matters (property distribution, custody, etc.). In other cases, WA divorce could be easily done without a lawyer.
How to file for uncontested divorce in the state of Washington?
First and foremost, it is necessary to find, fill out, print, and sign Washington state divorce forms. In WA, uncontested divorce starts when one of the spouses files the necessary paperwork with the clerk of the local court. After that, a third party who is over 18 needs to hand-deliver the copies of the documents that were filed to the spouse for them to provide a response or joint the petition. Once one of these papers is filed with the court, and the 90-day waiting period is over, you can schedule a hearing for your case.
Where do I go to file for uncontested divorce in Washington?
In order to start a divorce, you will have to file a Petition along with other paperwork at a local court clerk’s office.
What divorce forms do you need to start a divorce in Washington?
Here are some of the required forms:
There are various other WA divorce forms you may need depending on your case.
How much does a divorce cost in WA?
The filing fee for divorce in Washington is $280. There might be additional costs involved, such as those for making copies or serving your spouse. In Washington State, divorce filing fees can potentially be dropped if you cannot afford to pay them. However, it will be necessary to prove your inability to make the payment to the court.
How long does a divorce take in Washington?
After you’ve successfully filed for dissolution of marriage, you will need to wait for at least 90 days for your divorce to be finalized. This is a minimum waiting period, according to the state laws. Therefore, the sooner you file your documents, the faster the divorce will be finalized.
How long do you have to be a resident of WA state to file for divorce?
In Washington State residency, requirements for divorce are practically non-existent. There is no specific period of time that you need to live in the state for to file there. However, Washington imposes a waiting period of 90 days before the court can grant the divorce after the paperwork if filed.